Ellen Loudon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

cousin Ian

leave a comment »

I got an email from my cousin today. He did a parachute jump on Sunday and he sent this picture to prove it. He also reminded me that my Dad used to be in the parachute regiment after the war so regularly jumped out of ‘planes. Apparently he once said to my cousin “nothing can beat the feeling of free falling and then when you open your chute, it’s like the hand of God coming down and pulling you up and rescuing you.”

Now, my Dad died five years ago and I hardly ever see my cousin but this snippet of an insight into their relationship was quite moving to read. I have never jumped out of a plane but I know what it feels like to be rescued by the hand of God – if it’s like that it must be amazing.

Written by ellenloudon

May 20, 2008 at 11:07 am

Posted in family

Leave a comment