Ellen Loudon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

big brother lament

leave a comment »

I haven’t been watching big brother this year. Just following news reports and seeing clips. Mainly because I have been busy but I have also I was a bit worried about being sucked into watching the BB world of shouting, bitching and manipulation.

Last night racism reared it’s ugly head again and to be honest just reading about it makes me feel sad and demoralised. I am tired of hearing Endemol‘s excuses that broadcasting racist comments is ok because it means “people will be able to see with their own eyes that this is a problem that affects real people”. If it is – then try to change it, don’t emulate it!.

Lizzie Everard blogged about her Big Brother feelings the other day and I hadn’t gathered an opinion at that point. Now, it is leaving a nasty taste in my mouth and making me feel like I want to be part of a vision for a better world not accept the nasty one we have reflected on BB.

This is an interesting article on the ethics of reality TV. Not that Endemol really have much interest in ethics…

Written by ellenloudon

June 7, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Posted in lament

Leave a comment