Ellen Loudon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Jerry Falwell

with one comment

I read in the news today that Jerry Falwell has died. You can read his obituary here. It is tricky when someone that you have so many issues with dies. I didn’t want him to die, but I have to say I did want him to stop speaking. His influence was uncomfortable and unpleasant. As a Christian I was embarrassed by him and felt resentful that I was often asked to justify why such men are allowed to have power and able to hijack Christ. I have no idea why he was able to say the things he said. You may be interested in some of his most memorable quotes – if so click under the picture of Jerry.

I have often tried to communicate with Jerry Falwell and ask him myself why he was so angry, so accusatory, and needed so much money. My last letter I posted here. But, I won’t get a letter back from him now. I wonder if he is in heaven shouting at Jesus that the Antichrist is a Jew, that there is no such thing as global warning and that Tinky Winky was really gay?

ps As far as I know Tinky Winky has not denied being gay. His sexuality is not a problem for most of us. But for Jerry these things mattered.

Written by ellenloudon

May 16, 2007 at 11:46 am

Posted in lament

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you noticed this entry with the comment by Jim Wallis and links to various other things about him on the cartoon church blog: http://www.cartoonchurch.com/blog/2007/05/16/jerry-falwell/The slightly bizarre coincidence was that I was in a seminar discussion group thing on Monday morning discussing a friend’s essay about what future hope, if any, there is for the non-human world. Jerry Falwell’s name came up in ref to his quote that you posted a while back.

    Simon

    May 16, 2007 at 9:41 pm


Leave a Reply

